header
header

Bedtime Bonnet

$17.99

Bedtime Bonnet (2020) – hardcover
Written by Nancy Redd
Illustrated by Nneka Myers

40 pages
Trim size: 10.31″ x 10.31″
Recommended ages: 3 to 7

In stock

Description

Bedtime Bonnet is a joyous and loving celebration of family, and is the first-ever picture book to highlight Black nighttime hair traditions. It’s perfect for little Black girls, but also simply a fun multi-generational story that all children can enjoy. 

In my family, when the sun goes down, our hair goes up!
My brother slips a durag over his locs.
Sis swirls her hair in a wrap around her head.
Daddy covers his black waves with a cap.
Mama gathers her corkscrew curls in a scarf.
I always wear a bonnet over my braids, but tonight I can’t find it anywhere!

Bedtime Bonnet gives readers a heartwarming peek into quintessential Black nighttime hair traditions and celebrates the love between all the members of this close-knit, multi-generational family.

Perfect for readers of Hair Love!

Read our MiJa Books review of Bedtime Bonnet.

About the Author: 
Nancy Redd is an award-winning on-air-host, a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, a two-time Mom’s Choice Award winner, an NAACP Image Award nominee for outstanding literary work, and a GLAAD Media Award nominee for outstanding digital journalism. Called “the perfect combination of style and substance” by Essence magazine, Nancy holds an honors degree in women’s studies from Harvard University. Bedtime Bonnet was inspired by the lack of resources Nancy encountered when she introduced a bonnet to her daughter’s nighttime routine. 

About the Illustrator: 
Nneka Myers lives in Toronto and creates designs filled with color, texture, and diversity for publishers and the animation industry. Although drawing is her favorite, she can often be found looking for inspiration in vintage fashion, drinking tea with friends, or playing video games. 

Additional information

Weight 1 lbs
Dimensions 10.31 × 10.31 × .36 in
0
    0
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop